About Us

Bexar County ESD 12 Fire / Rescue is a combination department, we serve the far east side of Bexar County. We provide fire, rescue, and medical first response to approximately 90 square miles which includes the City of Saint Hedwig.


The mission of Bexar County ESD 12 Fire / Rescue is to enhance the safety and protect those who reside and travel through district of Bexar County ESD No. 12. We are committed to ensure we are creating a safer district through preparedness and effective emergency response.

What we do

Bexar County ESD No. 12 was established 2007 by the registered voters of the district. Bexar County ESD 12 Fire / Rescue runs out of 2 stations, one located within the city limits of Saint Hedwig.  One located off Highway 87. Both Stations are staffed 24/7 with career staff. We have purchased property off FM 1518 for Station 3. we are currently in the design process for the build of Station (Groundbreaking Possibly March 2023) We are currently in the process of purchasing land for Stations 4 (Graytown Rd & Freudenburg Rd,) Station 5 (Stuart Rd & New Sulphur Springs), Station 6 (Loop 1604 & Bernhardt Rd), Station 7 ( FM 2538 & New Berlin Rd). 

Bexar County ESD 12 Fire / Rescue utilizes a staff of 27 Fulltime firefighters to staff station 191 & 192. The department also staffs about 10 trained professional volunteer firefighters.



https://public.tfswildfires.com/   active fire in Texas



Our History

St Hedwig VFD was chartered


1956 - 1981

Albert ” Dutch ” Strzelczyk Chief

All funding for the fire department was from dues from the community and an annual picnic held in August

1981 - 2003

2003 - 2006

John Decker – Chief
As the number of calls increased, funding continued to be a struggle. Never a shortage of volunteers, they continued to serve the community day or night whenever the tones went off.

Lawrence Padalecki Sr. – Chief
As the City of St. Hedwig and un-incorporated areas grew so did the amount of funding needed keep the running and prepared for the future. In 2008 Chief Padalecki asked the members of the community
to vote on a ad valorem tax that would solely fund department for the foreseeable future. The voters answered unanimously, this would change the face of the department forever.

2006 - Present